Blog Archive

Friday, December 23, 2011

poste la vingt-quinzième, dans laquelle we look toward the future

soooo, here is the mysterious special wonderful surprise i promised all you internetsters out there: I HAVE ANOTHER BLERG. that's right! the fun is not over, no no, THERE'S MOAR.

I want to tie up a few loose ends on here at some point, like the harry potter and apocalypse posts I promised a while ago, but in the meantime, my life is continuing and the adventures* just keep coming!

So here you go:

Clare on the loose! It might be more than you can handle.

You're welcome. Blergging wouldn't be blergging without a little self-love, after all!

and a Joyeux Noël to you all!

- clarebear

*this is a loose definition of adventures, since most of the time i talk about either nothing or very mundane things, or things that are not even real but merely my misinterpretations of reality. anyway.

Friday, December 16, 2011

poste la vingt-quatrieme, dans laquelle we were there to learn, so here's what i've got.

In no particular order, the first 10 things I thought of:

1. date a bartender or waiter, or be friends with someone who's dating one, or just go out with cute flirty girls. you will get free drinks.

2. clothes dryers are SO convenient (because you can wake up and realize you have no clean clothes, and just be like, hey let's hang out 2 hours later I need to do laundry, instead of like, hey let's hang out 24 hours later or in our pajamas/birthday suits bc I need to do laundry), but it is nice not to have to re-break in your clothes every time you wash them.

3. it's not that hard to turn off the shower except when rinsing, and once you get used to it you will feel profoundly guilty every time you don't.

4. avoid trying to replicate american idioms in french. it gets awkward. (see the last section of this post)

5. everything is better with sesame seeds, including nutella paninis and spaghetti. just sayin'.

6. you can speak authentic french indefinitely without actually saying anything: 



7. sometimes when a creepy guy asks if you and your (girl) friend are a couple, it's not a bad idea to say yes.

8. i am probably not the next adele. or beyonce. however, that is measured in terms of talent, not in terms of how much heart i put into feeling the music. if that were the contest, i would win.

9. the french make pretty tasteless french fries. (the greeks, on the other hand, know what's up!)

10. dancing is best when done on tables and when you have lots of feelings, and when you know the words if there are any. (but we knew that one already!)


I'm home now, and I have a few more posts coming, things I meant to write about but never got around to but are so hilarious or significant I feel it would be a grave disservice to deprive you all of these stories. Also I had big adventures on my way home including a surprise stay in Iceland. Stay tuned, THERE'S MOAR! (potentially including some fahncy media stuff like PHOTOS, VIDEOS, and a special surprise really wonderful thing! AH PROMIZ!)

love from Seattle at last,
Clarebear

Monday, December 5, 2011

As I fell asleep finishing my French vocab list last night...

To appreciate the following, it is not necessary to understand french; they don't make much more sense even if you know what the words mean!


adouber – intégrer, adopter, we chatted, but the class sis not move quiet en

Tu as eu a borrne weekend !– un mauvais reinse

le sang neuf – personnes qui quie sont morte.

un feuj – personne juif (personée in English) 
=> this one is impressive because I have no idea how to make that little box thing when I'm awake!

...And the accompanying email to the prof (take 1):
Voila mes vocabulaire. Desolee our no fair voetre consiocnsiouc

(take 2):
Voila mes vocabulaire. Je suis desolee parce wu'ils seon tun boe thinee1

and finally:
Voila ma vocabulaire. Je suis désolée parce elle est en retard.

...close enough. For those of you who don't know, I have a history of typing nonsense as I fall asleep working and not noticing when I wake up that I did not in fact fill that last half-page with intelligent writing. This spring I ended a reading response in my language and gender class with a half page of nonsense and then the winning quote "Thanks for all your coaching! :)". Thank goodness that professor had a sense of humor!

Love y'all,
Clare

p.s. please observe the increase in content production the farther i get into finals week. enjoy it, because i am suffering over here!

p.p.s. i just checked out my final version from last night...uh-oh. sending in corrected version before my prof reads it i hope!



Sunday, December 4, 2011

poste la vingt-deuxième, dans laquelle we revisit some of "our" "favorite" topics.

1. UMBRELLAS. (points for not swearing!)

So on Friday night, I went up the Eiffel Tower. Awesome, sparkly, obnoxious PDAs, etc. Also, a gift shop. Several actually, on each level of the tower. Obviously one of the worst places to buy something if you care about not getting ripped off, right? Well. Guess what? The freaking EIFFEL TOWER/PARIS -THEMED umbrellas (cuter/more interesting/a better souvenir than my plain black one) AT THE TOP OF THE TOWER were CHEAPER than my dumb boring overpriced MONOPRIX one! GRRRAAAAAGGGGGHHHH! and the difference was significant; at least two nutella paninis worth. but I am done.

2. DOORS. Sometimes a challenge, sometimes AWESOME.

AWESOME:
Many many weeks ago, in the distant corners of this blog and my mind, I didn't know how to open the door of my apartment building. WHATTT?! I realize this is absurd, je me smh.* Anyway, one day I came home and waved my weird little key thing at the weird little key thing reader, reaching for the handle to pull the door open. Suddenly, BEFORE I TOUCHED IT, the door swung open towards me! ALL BY ITSELF. Naturally, the first thing that comes into my Roald Dahl-reading, Harry Potter-loving brain is that I moved it with my mind! I am Matilda! My Hogwarts acceptance letter delivery owl really did just get lost in the Seattle cloud cover! This approximately 2 second period (which is 1.75 seconds longer than it really should have been) was one of the greatest moments of my life. Unfortunately, then reality caught up to me (or I caught up to it), and I realized that en fait it was the weird little key thingy that now triggered the door to open automatically because of our neighbor who uses a wheelchair. What a letdown.

CHALLENGE:
So, just when I thought I was really getting good at going in and out of places using those flaps they call doors, I have a really embarrassing moment. Or just like, how do I function in the world when I am une centimètre from doing things like this ALL THE TIME? Good question.

So half of last week was this awkward time where my NaviGo, my metro pass, wasn't usable because November had ended and I didn't want to pay the weekly price for 4 days. So I bought a carnet and just tried to beat the system whenever no one was looking. (don't tell!) Well, I really wanted my (rawther expensive) tickets to be reusable, so I put an old one into the machine, and after some fiddling around, the turnstile let me go through. Success! you might be thinking. No my friends, not success. There is a flap thing (enough like a door to be in this post) on the other side of the turnstile to thwart stingy people like me, which did not believe my invalid ticket and did not open. But I had my bag and (6 21 3 11 9 13 8) umbrella with me and was generally taking up space inconveniently, so to put it simply, I was stuck. I couldn't go backwards, I couldn't go forwards, and I couldn't move around enough to go over or under. Hmm.

This was the relatively quiet stop of Assemblée Nationale, so there was no one around to swipe their funtional NaviGo and give me a hand...even the ticket window was empty! I spent a good 30 seconds in this position. Evetually I managed to turn around to face the window and realized there was someone in the room behind the booth, so I threw away all dignity and began yelling "EXCUSEZ-MOI!" until she came into view and pushed a magical button to release me (sans billet!) into the underground kingdom of the Paris Métro. In retrospect, I could have coughed up another ticket from my carnet and gotten the door to open that way, but (1) I wasn't going to do that unless it was an emergency and (2) I was only interested in glamorous escape strategies, like shouting at strangers until they come to my aid.

Always use the buddy system,*
Clare

* franglinternetish for I am shaking my head at myself.
* ask me in person for a non-blog material (this was another low point in terms of my dignity level) story about why we use the buddy system. potty humor included.